Standing Committee of Tamil Speaking People S.C.O.T

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 04.12.2022 TEAMS Meeting

1. Registration:

Dr R ThambyrajahMr Sydney XavierDr S ArunachalamDr K NiranjanDr AHS RajendramDr R G SankaralingamDr T SooriyamoorthyDr M PathmarajahMr Chelva SabapathyMr V IndranDr A B CanagasabeyMr P SwampillaiMrs J SelvarajahDr E VelauthapillaiDr S NavaratnamDr Menaca Pothalingam

Mr D Nirmalan Mrs E Yoganathan

Mr M Rudran President Mr A B Alphonsus Treasurer Mr Jude Swampillai Projects Officer

Mr S T Sivakumaran Secretary

Apologies were received from:

Mr Rasa Swampillai, Ms Vasuki Sankaralingam, Ms Arunthathy Sankaralingam, Dr L Vasanthakumar and Mr R A J Amirthanayagam

The meeting commenced at 10.00 am with *The President, Mr M Rudran*, in the chair and One-minute silence was observed.

Due to lack of quorum (30 Members), Mr Jude Swampillai proposed the suspension of standing order and seconded by Mr Prabha Swampillai which was adopted and the meeting continued.

The President, Mr Rudran thanked the members for their presence. This is the final meeting of the present committee and thanked everybody.

2. Adoption of Minutes of AGM held on 28th November 2021

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) was accepted as correct.

Dr Rajendram proposed the adoption of the minutes, which was seconded by Mr Jude Swampillai.

3. Matters arising from the minutes

No matter was raised from the minutes.

4. Adoption of Accounts

The Treasurer, Mr Alphonsus stated there is no issues to report. A few have stopped paying subscriptions but this is compensated by newly recruited members. The accounts have been signed by the Independent Examiner (Auditor), Mrs N Thiruvasagam.

The adoption of the accounts was proposed by Dr Sooriyamoorthy and seconded by Dr Navaratnam.

Mr Praba Swampillai, supported by the General Council, thanked the Treasurer, Mr Alphonsus, for the job well done.

5. President's Address

The outgoing *President* Mr Rudran's statement was sent out in the AGM pack to all the members.

The President, Mr Rudran stated that our charity SCOT was operating for the past 45 years with Good Governance, helping our people in Sri Lanka. Lack of Projects is a concern but we should totally focused in bringing in and supporting worthy projects which support our Three E initiatives, providing Education, Employment and Empowerment.

The President, Mr Rudran thanked every member, the General Council and the membership at large, for giving their support during his presidency and wished all the success to the newly elected SCOT General Council members.

Dr Navaratnam expressed his appreciation for the service rendered by the outgoing SCOT General Council.

6. Election of New General Council Members for 2022/2023

The following were elected as Office Bearers. There was no contest.

SCOT General Council Members 2022/2023	
Name	Position
Dr A B Canagasabey	President
Dr T Sooriyamoorthy	Vice President
Dr M Pathmarajah	Vice President
Mr S T Sivakumaran	General Secretary
Mr C Sabapathy	Assistant General Secretary
Mr A B Alphonsus	Treasurer
Dr E Velauthapillai	Assistant Treasurer
Mr Jude Swampillai	Project Officer
No Nominations received	Assistant Project Officer
Mr V Indran	Trustee
Mr F Swampillai	Trustee
Dr S Navaratnam	Trustee
Mr M Rudran	Immediate Past President
Dr R S Thambyrajah	Past President 2018 - 2020
Mrs J Selvarajah	GC Member
Dr A L Vasanthakumar	GC Member
Dr R G Sankaralingham	GC Member
Dr H Rajendram	GC Member
Mr J Paramanathan	GC Member
Mr A Sriharan	GC Member
Mrs R Sriharan	GC Member
Dr Menaca Pothalingam	GC Member
Mr D Nirmalan	GC Member
Mr R A J Amirthanayagam	GC Member

The New President, Dr Canagasabey continued the meeting after his appointment.

Dr Canagasabey said that he was honoured and thanked the members for electing him as the President of the SCOT. He will do everything that needs to be done to discharge the presidential responsibilities. Dr Canagasabey further said that while proud of the past but we should look forward to improve further and make SCOT more effective to meet the needs of our peopole. He would need the support and hardwork of the General Council members to meet the future challenges. Thank you.

The New President, Dr Canagasabey propose that Mrs N Thiruvasagam be appointed as an Independent Examiner (Auditor) for another year which was seconded by Mr Prabha Swampillai.

Dr Canagasabey thanked the outgoing General Council members including the past President Mr Rudran for their hard work.

7. Any Other Business

The Secretary, Mr Sivakumaran recorded SCOT' appreciation for the service rendered to SCOT by the following members who have passed away in the period.

Mr P Rajanayagam – Past President Mr V Rajayogeswaran Dr S T Somasekaram

The Project Officer, Mr Jude Swampillai talked about challenges in getting the correctly completed project application forms and right documents. Dr Navaratnam appreciated the Project Officer's work and said PO needs support in presenting the projects to GC so that decisions can be made quicker. Dr Sooriyamoorthy stated Project Sub-committee would help and we should follow the procedures.

Mr Indran said not much projects proposals are received from Sri Lanka and should look at nominating a representative to look for projects and to monitor existing projects. Projects which are brought to GC meetings for approval should have full supporting documents. A checklist may help to achieve this. Project Sub-committee to review projects and give it seal of approval. The importance of mobilising the Members to support the SCOT activities. The importance of GC members attending the GC meetings.

Dr Canagasabey appreciated the efforts of Dr Navaratnam in recruiting seven new members for the SCOT.

Future AGM and some of the GC meetings were proposed to be held in person (face to face) and others via Teams. Need to look at Hybrid meetings too (combined face to face and virtual/Teams).

Meeting concluded at 11.10 hours.

=========